Revising Leah

January 9, 2009

Tell Me What You Think (Poll!)

Filed under: Uncategorized — J.M. Reep @ 1:37 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I’m still waiting for the proof copy of my novel to arrive, and as I wait, I continue to second-guess my design for the back cover. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I’m worried that the image on the back will be obviously pixelated, and while I like the idea of a large detail of the front cover painting on the back, too much pixelation will make the cover look really, really amateurish.

But I’ve also felt uncertain about the design in general. Even if the picture is not over-pixelated, I’m not sure if it’s the best design. With that in mind, the other day I started designing a new back cover, one with a smaller, crisper image and a quote from the novel.

So I want to know from you, kind visitor, which design do you think is better (that is, which looks more professional and/or aesthetically pleasing)? Click on the images below to see a larger image, and then participate in the poll at the end of this post. And maybe leave a comment if you have suggestions to make. I’m eager to know what people think.

Option One

Option One

Option Two

Option Two

Option One is what I have right now. Pros: the image fills the entire back cover, an idea that I rather like. Minimal text. Cons: Too much pixelation. I’m not a fan of the shape of the blurb; it’s triangular because I’m trying to avoid letting the text get tangled in the girl’s hair, but it’s not a perfect triangle and that kind of bugs me.

Option Two is the possible new design. Pros: It looks clean and simple. It’s hard to tell, perhaps, but the font color here is dark green. I thought that would look better than a lot of black text on a white background. I like how the detail image is focused on the book the girl is holding. Cons: That’s a lot of text! (The quote at the top of the cover is, in fact, an edited, shortened version of what appears in the manuscript, but it’s still really long.)

2 Comments »

  1. Oh I think its very endearing, if that’s the right word. I voted for option two, and I’ll give you a few very good reasons…

    It looks very professional and clean, I agree there, but what I really love, is the mysterious quality of it, croping the image leaves a lot for the mind to think of, and makes me want to read the book to find out exactly what it all means. I love the vibrant red there too, rather than the pastels of image one, it’s always nice when a color really pops, and ignites ones curiosity.

    I personally love whe a quote is on the back of the book, because it gives me an idea of the authors voice. It’s nice to have those little snippets that intrigue. And I enjoy the text, there isn’t really THAT much, not at all like it would turn me off on reading about it, because afterall, if someones buying a book, they like to read already, it’s not like trying to sell a video game to an ADD child :)

    I’ll try to put my book cover up on my site, and you can give me a once over on your opinion, but thus far I really love option two, I’d be curious to know what the cover is like, because that could change my mind, you never know.

    Comment by featherbookseries — January 10, 2009 @ 5:55 pm

  2. Thanks. You mentioned that the color pops in the second choice. That’s something I hadn’t thought about. In Option One, I made the colors lighter, transparent so that one could read the blurb. I hadn’t thought that I might be diminishing the vividness of Loe’s painting. That’s definitely something for me to think about.

    Comment by jmreep — January 10, 2009 @ 6:44 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

