Revising Leah

November 16, 2008

Cover Image By Laura Loe

Filed under: Uncategorized — J.M. Reep @ 5:01 pm
Tags: , , , , , , ,
The 2009 Edition. Coming soon to an online bookseller near you.

The 2009 Edition. Coming soon to an online bookseller near you.

I’ve chosen my front cover image. It’s from a painting by American artist Laura Loe titled Girl Reading Book. I found the image a year ago, when I was exploring images to use for the cover of The Spring. I knew I’d be re-publishing Leah in 2009, so just for fun I started scouting for possible cover images for that novel, too. Girl Reading Book was among the first I found. When I saw it, I thought to myself, “Whoa, that’s her! That’s Leah Nells.” It was a moment of pure serendipity. The girl in the painting really does resemble the character I imagine when I’m reading the novel. Since then, I’ve collected other images that were possible candidates for the front cover, but Girl Reading Book has always been my first choice. I got in touch with the artist recently and received her kind permission to use the image.

You might notice that the design for the cover of Leah is similar to the design for The Spring. Since both novels are part of the same series, it makes sense that the front cover designs should be similar too. It’s a simple design, but I like it. It’s clean and elegant and (I hope) not too amateurish.

I’m still not sure what I’m going to do for the back cover. One idea I have is to use a detail from Girl Reading Book. Another option is to use a completely different image (probably a photograph, but a photo might clash with the painting on the front). Or maybe I won’t use an image at all; I’ll just use the blurb’s text and leave it at that. I’ll experiment with some different designs and decide what looks best.

1 Comment »

  1. Oooh, I really like the look of that. It looks really nice. Kudos to finding an image that fits your book perfectly.

    Comment by chibidoucet — November 16, 2008 @ 6:00 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

