Revising Leah

September 13, 2008

Good Work, Brain!

It’s certainly true that one thinks more clearly after a good night’s rest. When I woke up this morning, the first thought in my head was that I might have made a mistake in how I’ve set up the scene in which Leah and her group present their reports to the class. I was browsing that chapter last night, shortly before I turned in, and I guess my subconscious mind discovered something that my conscious mind had missed.

The problem that my brain discovered is that the order in which the five students present their topics might not be the best or most logical order. Leah’s topic, of course, is the pharaohs. Heather offers a two-and-a-half minute summary of Egyptian history. Melanie has researched the process of mummification, and Alex has drawn some posters illustrating the interiors of the pyramids. I don’t know what topic David’s report covers; it’s never mentioned in the text.

The order in which the five students present is this: David, Heather, Melanie, Leah, Alex. But this morning, when I awoke, I realized that it would make a lot more sense if Melanie’s report followed Leah’s. It makes sense that a team would want to discuss the lives of the pharaohs and then discuss what happened to them after they died.

It’s a minor problem in the text, but it’s a problem which has never occurred to me before. The question that is before me now is whether I’m going to fix it. It would be relatively easy to fix in the sense that I wouldn’t have to rework the plot or anything, but I would have to move several passages and paragraphs around and rewrite a few sentences. The more I think about it, though, the more likely I am to just leave it be. It might be a continuity error It’s not even a continuity error; it’s just a minor oversight on my part. It doesn’t harm the story or the plot. In fact, in the text, the progression of David, then Heather, then Melanie, then Leah provides for a little bit of suspense and tension since Leah has to listen and wait for her partners to read their reports before she can read hers.

So I think I’ll leave this little discrepancy in the text, but kudos to you, My Brain, for calling my attention to it. Keep up the good work!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

