Revising Leah

July 30, 2008

Pictures

Filed under: Uncategorized — J.M. Reep @ 11:09 am
Tags: , , , , ,

I’m still a few months away from publication, but I’ve been thinking about what the cover of the novel will look like. If I self-publish again, then it will be up to me to design the cover and choose the image, so I’m always on the lookout for potential images. I’m already considering several different possibilities, including the picture on the right which I found on Flickr the other day. I like this image because it connects to the story on at least four different levels.

Aesthetic considerations aren’t the only factor in my decision, though. When I finally choose an image, I’ll have to negotiate the use of that image with the photographer/artist who created it. Some photographers may not allow me to use their images; others might charge more money than I can afford for an image’s use. What’s nice about the image on the right is that it is something that I myself could easily recreate with my own camera (I probably wouldn’t use the image in this post anyway simply because the heart isn’t quite symmetrical.)

But whatever image I choose, I want to keep the design consistent with the cover design for The Spring.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

